Tags

, ,

The fast I mentioned going on didn’t work. At all. I got three days without food and I ended up sick as a dog. To add insult to injury, when I started eating again I slept something like 12 hours with my blood sugar being completely screwed up.

My new resolution was to give the Atkins (paleo, whatever you want to call ‘no carb’) diet another try. When I was on the fast, I was joking with people I was only allowed to eat dinosaurs and other things our ancestors might find. The local office comedian reminded me the earth is only 3000 years old and god put dinosaur bones in the ground to easily sort the atheists out of heaven. Funny, but ultimately unhelpful. Trying to keep on the theme of ‘magical dieting’, I was trying to avoid foods with “a sense about them”. This is pretty clearly a prohibition against meat. No word on if being a chicken abortionist is OK, but I don’t think eggs were really considered “alive” in Abraham of Worm’s time. That worked out OK, but I ended up eating so much roughage I had stomach pains. That I can deal with. I ended up trying to keep kosher and figuring out my body really likes fish. While not perfect, I think it’s going to be a lot better than my normal coffee fueled, burrito eating work day.

My current problem is while I’m forcing myself into ketosis, my daughter has been teething and it’s really been cutting into my sleep when she wakes up in the middle of the night. Until the ketosis really kicks in, my energy levels are low, but I’m not sick. On the other hand, instead of meditating and doing awesome magic stuff, I end up passing out on the sofa. I’m hoping once she gets done teething I can get enough energy up to actually get off my butt and go astral touring again.

That being said, B&N stock was up twice in a row. I’m doing 50/50 right now, we’ll see where it goes.

