Tags

,

Quick notes on Liber E vel Exercitiorum sub Figura IX

Physical Clairvoyance – I suck at this. However, it’s fairly straightforward.

Asana – At first thought I read this as “oh he’s trying to get blood to rush to your head”. A second pass reveals he’s actually writing about godforms. What does this do for us in a practical form? In evocation the idea is to become as comfortable as possible so as to resist the calls of our bodies. In my case, trying to keep “as rigid as possible” almost always ends in me needing to take a poop about 15 minutes in. I suspect a better practice would be to use the bathroom beforehand. However 15 minutes is also a significant number since it’s also the amount of time it takes me to get into the flow for meditation. My gut instinct is that it’s just a hump and my body is doing “OH DON’T YOU NOD OFF” at the 15 minute mark which is what makes this hard.

Pranayama – This is Tyson and Kraig (and others) four fold breath. This is a slam dunk for 90% of practicing occultists I would think. Not only is the breathing important to regulate, but it helps to intone names also. Knowing enough about names to come up with male and female polarity syllables is extremely important, since these also should be said on each part of the breath. Exhale on the male, inhale on the female.

Dharana – I suspect he’s trying to set people up to observe it when an object does deviate from a path because it’s a spirit. However the simple shapes tend to make themselves gateways. I tried this with the tattvas and almost always ended up in elemental space. I tried it with a differential gear pack and could just spin the thing forever. This leads to a particularly interesting philosophical problem – could there be gear universes? My sneaking suspicion is that I would resolve these things to elemental properties being largely representative of forces. Trying to imagine a hydroelectric dam, for instance, just led me to the water elemental and the earth elemental within the composition of the dam itself. The earth elemental was a bit off.

SO SOOTHING

 

