Tags

, ,

I was packing up the stuff after what I thought was a failed night and I had set the stem to epoxy on the chinese glassware and was lugging my buckets and beer making equipment out to the garage. I typed up the previous post marking it as a failure that was a good learning experience (if not expensive breaking the glassware for want of a proper lab clamp) and set things aside to cool down. By the definition of the ThAOI Alchemy document, this was a failure. However anything the operator puts their energy into (which is really the purpose of alchemy) and anything which effects a change or refinement in the matter (no matter how crude to the standards of our peers) is proper alchemy.

Now this is something I wish I had taken a picture of. When I started out, the rosemary tea was “green”. About halfway through it was “red”. I noticed it was browning and it got my attention. Also on that note, the color change is mentioned many, many times in alchemy. I decided to go for it. So, the complete process was say the Lords Prayer (“Give us this day our daily bread”…) over the plant in the day and hour of the spirit (Luna), snip the plant, chop finely, put in double boiler to make tea. Now if I insisted on the distillation, I would say once the tea is made in about an hour, move it to open flame and get the distilling going. However if we want to avoid this, we can put it on heat for two hours (the amount of time it took me to boil out the water from the bottom half of the double boiler) and this seems to do the trick. I intentionally put in about 500ml of water and material, and I got out about a rocks glass (~300ml). Either my glassware had a leak or something isn’t sealed right because there’s a sizable portion of water which I don’t think would have filled the volume of air. From there I poured the remaining tea into a glass through a coffee filter. I took the coffee filtered leaves (they come right out of the glassware with a swirl) and dumped those into a clay flower pot. I took the flower pot into the garage and hit the leaves with a blowtorch until they calcinated (turned white) and then dumped that back into the mixture which I stirred.

Let tell you, it smells like perfume. I’m letting it sit (covered) for a week in the bowels of the earth (my basement).

If you're wondering how to control the flow, turn it down until you get a standing bubble. So long as that bubble doesn't move, it's as slow as it's going to get. The bucket is full of ice.

If you’re wondering how to control the flow, turn it down until you get a standing bubble. So long as that bubble doesn’t move, it’s as slow as it’s going to get. The bucket is full of ice.

Color starting to come through.

Color starting to come through.

Heating....

Heating….

Blessed and cut material.

Blessed and cut material.

Different angle. Eventually I swapped out the teapot for an old lamp.

Different angle. Eventually I swapped out the teapot for an old lamp.

This is the flask in a pasta bowl. It holds the flask.

This is the flask in a pasta bowl. It holds the flask.

The starting setup. To quote my wife - it looks like a meth lab in here.

The starting setup. To quote my wife – it looks like a meth lab in here.

Alright that’s the prep and process, but how did it look on the far side?

The color change...

The color change…

Blasting the material into white ash.

Blasting the material into white ash.

White ash. The pot is to keep the ash from flying away. You know this is done right when the stuff really tries to escape.

White ash. The pot is to keep the ash from flying away. You know this is done right when the stuff really tries to escape.

The finished elixer with the ash in it. Stir!

The finished elixer with the ash in it. Stir!

There’s enough for both me and my wife and it smells and looks awesome. This should kick the evocation up a notch.

