Tags

, ,

The day I was going to actually use the plants I was instructed to – I went outside and found my wife had done some weeding. Of course one person’s weed is another persons blessed folk remedy, and it only dawned on me much later that the woods orchid looks a lot like a golden ball blazing with fire… I’m now going to save as many seed pods as possible since she pulled them out by the root. The angels also look a lot like a Seraph. I am currently wandering around the woods chopping down all the wild grape and looking for another patch of the stuff but the knotweed is just terrible this year. Knotweed by itself isn’t absolutely bad since the blue berries taste like… blueberries when they get really dark but it chokes the crap out of everything and nothing eats it.

Where do influences come from? That’s been a topic I’ve been rolling around in my head. I can sit here and make cabalistic connections all day in retrospect and they personally lend truth to the experience for me. Why pick an image that’s appropriate to both the angel, the cure, and the flower? I didn’t make that connection immediately. And, in the case of John Dee, sometimes people don’t make the connections for hundreds of years, including himself. Going back to Aaron Leitch’s thread, I initially dismissed it as a co-incidence. Specifically the manuscripts weren’t listed in the Giant List of Things Dee Owned, so I couldn’t place it directly into Dee’s hands. However Aaron brought up two excellent points: Dee may have made the work look like the work of an already venerated monk (attribution is fairly common practice in grimoires to avoid punishment/add legitimacy for money or fame) or Dee may have simply encountered the thing in his travels. Kelley was also well traveled, which may be how the thing ended up in his head too. And if we want to ascribe purely supernatural ideas to this phenomenon of artwork, it may be that the spiritual forces involved were paving the road for Dee’s work and Mauri simply picked up on the current or was part of that paving.

There’s those six winged angels again…

Rabanus’s complete works aren’t digitized but some folks managed to find some of the scans from various sources and upload them. They are:

Rabanus Maurus and the Liber de Laudibus Sanctae Crucis

Rabanus Maurus and the Liber de Laudibus Sanctae Crucis 2, BibNat, Latin 2422

Liber de Laudibus Sanctae Crucis – Bib Espana

